I have failed miserably at updating these past 3 weeks, but I'll try and do my best now.
Theresa came on Sunday July 11 - we picked her up at LAX and ran into Pauly D from Jersey Shore. We took a picture with him just because. Directly from LAX we went to DISNEYLAND. It was such a weird concept for me to wrap my mind around - I was going to Disney for a day. It wasn't a huge vacation or family adventure, just going to Disney (and for free might I add). Disneyland is pretty awesome. There are two parks and they are side by side - Disneyland and Disney California Adventure. Cali Adventure has tower of terror, but not much else. Disneyland has basically all the same things, but everything is just a little different - namely the castle. Which is hardly a castle at all, in fact it looks like a cottage. We concluded that day by going back over to California Adventure for Disney's newest attraction: World of Color. There is no way to describe World of Color. We've all seen Fantasmic, right? Well, take Fantasmic and multiply it by 193749237592375 and that's how amazing World of Color is. It makes Fantasmic look like a kitten compared to a lion. Hopefully they do one at Disney World - OR we'll just all have to go to Disneyland!
I took off most of the week Theresa was visiting so that I wasn't leaving her high and dry in our apartment. So Tuesday AKA my 21st birthday, we went to Santa Monica. Tuesday morning however, one of the highlights of my summer occurred. So on Monday night Theresa and I were driving to the target that one of the other interns had seen Chad Michael Murray at. So we had this whole conversation about how crazy it would be to see him there. Well we didn't see him at target, but how crazy is it that the next morning on MY BIRTHDAY, he gets out of the car while we're eating bagels? We waited for him to leave the GNC before we approached him and asked for a picture. He was super nice, even asked to see the picture to make sure it was good. WIN. Then I cried - so much for making it two years in a row not crying on my birthday! The first time it's ever been happy tears, so that's a plus.
Tuesday night was mildly disappointing. All summer everyone had said they were going ot go all out for my birthday, but one by one people were dropping out. Most people did come over before we went out though. The FSU girls made me this beautiful sign with a list of 21 things I had to complete before the night was over. Things like - do a body shot, steal 5 articles of clothing, get carried out of the bar while serenading the bouncer (i didn't get to do this), finish a bottle of Soco, bark at a boy, convince someone you're a celebrity...and a lot more. My first drink was the traditional irish car bomb. So after singing happy birthday, and two hours of pregamming we went out to Sunset Blvd. I would say it was a pretty good 21st birthday. I ate shit after we left the first bar and fell over this rope, falling into people sitting at a table and knocking everything over. I got up and ran away. Once we got back to Oakwood, I don't remember much. But I didn't get sick!
Saturday we went to Las Vegas. The drive sucked and it was 118 degrees. We stayed at Imperial Palace and ate dinner at Margaritaville which was pretty fun - a lot mroe exciting than the one at Universal. That night we went to Caesers, Theresa won 70 bucks at craps! We were pretty much all over the place trying to experience as much of Las Vegas as possible. So we went to the Bellagio and then The Palms to several different nightclubs.
We took Theresa straight to LAX from LV the next day. If I recall correctly that week was pretty mediocre. On the weekend we went to this pretty upscale bar called Edison in downtown L.A. They had a pretty strict dress code so we got all dressed up. It was pretty fun! Saturday night I hung out with the FSU crew and we all ended up going back to Edison.
For being an intern at Disney I got two complimentary hoppers to Disneyland. So Chris and I went there last Sunday. Working at Disney really has it's perks - I might have to try and keep that up. Disneyland round two was just as much fun, but it was way more crowded. We saw World of Color again of course.
Monday was fairly ordinary, but Tuesday and Wednesday I got to be a PA on Brothers and Sisters. PA stands for Production Assistant - which included any random tasks such as getting Matthew Rhys and Luke McFarlane Starbucks, holding an Umbrella to shade Calista Flockhart or getting Ron Rifkin's bike from his dressing room. Also wrangling extras, managing the shooting boundaries (so people don't walk in the shot) and calling out when they're rolling so people know to be quiet. Both days I started at 6am. However, they feed you ALL DAY LONG. Regardless, I absolutely loved it. I'm so happy I got to be on set so that I could experience and figure out if I had a future there. And I believe that I do. I met EVERYONE. Director, writers, ADs (assistant director)...everyone. I was told that they absolutley loved me, and the AD gave me his contact info and said to keep in touch and also get in touch with him when i get back out there.
Tuesday night was the Glee event. It wasn't exactly what I thought it would be, but it was pretty amazing. The ENTIRE cast was there. First they sang a few songs and then there was a Q and A session with a chick from E!. I had goosebumbs the whole time because they are so talented. When it was over I locked eyes with Matthew Morrison and didn't have to do much to get a picture - but I was the only one : ) Thank you Mr. Shuester!
Wednesday night was my Zac Efron endeavor. That too, was not what I had expected. It was backstage at Jimmy Kimmel, but he wasn't hanging out like I thought he would. He stayed in his dressing room the whole time and then came out to say hi and do a little schtick for the show. We touched hands briefly, but that was it.
Thursday (yesterday) was my very last day at work : ( Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior asked me to come help out in their production offices. I really, really liked their crew as well. They were pretty busy getting ready to start shooting soon. I did a lot of random tasks for them also - but it made me feel a lot more important and I have back in the ABC building. I really like working for one specific show rather than the bigger picture.
Side note - one thing I did this summer was get hooked on Dexter. If you've never seen it - be careful, it's like crack. Julie Benz who plays Dexter's girlfriend/wife is doing a new show for ABC called No Ordinary Family. All summer I had been counting down they days until they started shooting, and ever since they have I've been trying to meet her or just casually run into her. Well, yesterday, my last day, me and another intern were over at No Ordinary Family and we asked the PAs if it would be possible to meet her. So they went and asked her if it was ok, and she said absolutely. So we went over to her trailer, met her and then literally talked to her for a half hour. She was soooo nice and took pictures with us. Great way to end the summer @ Disney.
I suggested to Selise and Allan (the two that run the Temple Internship program) that they make the program last all summer. Although I got to do more during the final stretch at ABC, I'm missing out on sooooooooooooooooo much more.
So today is Friday, nothing is packed and this apartment is a mess. I'm really sad. I don't think this next year can go fast enough ....
See you all soon : )



